Most Converts Know This Painful Feeling

What if my family doesn’t convert?

Photo by Levi Meir Clancy on Unsplash

I think this all of the time. I think of the family that has already passed away and cry harder than for the ones that are alive, knowing the end for them. I feel the time ticking so fast, scared of not knowing their end, making dua’a that they end up dying as Muslims.

I, my husband, and his family try to give dawah to them and make dua’a that they end up seeing the truth. But, man, this isn’t easy.

The confusion surrounding who can and cannot see my hair and face, who can shake my husband’s hand, what food and drink we obstain from, the awkwardness of them not understanding differences in how we practice religion or just live our lifes on a day to day basis. It’s not easy being the only one that believes something in a group. It’s not easy to be married into that either. Sometimes, making the choice to live out your beliefs can cause friction and lead people into the thought you are forcing them to change. I don’t force Islam on anyone; Allah SWT ultimately chooses. I’ll live my life as I have been called to do; it’s better to have a backbone than to lose your relationship with Allah SWT.

“And We have enjoined on man (to be dutiful and good) to his parents. His mother bore him in weakness and hardship upon weakness and hardship, and his weaning is in two years __

--

--

Tales of Zainab: A Perpetually Tired Housewife

Zainab is a convert of Islam since 2019. She loves to learn more about her beautiful religion, question people, spend time with her family, and sometimes write.